Contact
top

HeXACCREDITATIONS

ISO/CEI 17000 defines accreditation as a "a third party attestation, related to a conformity assessment body, conveying formal demonstration of its competence to carry out specific conformity assessment tasks".

This means application of a second level of control over laboratories, inspection bodies and certification bodies in order to attest their competence to carry out calibration, testing or inspections or to certify products, systems or persons.

Multilateral agreements

Europe: BELAC (Belgium's accreditation body) is a signatory to the EA (European Accreditation) multilateral agreement which covers all areas: tests calibration, inspection and certification.

World: BELAC has signed multilateral agreements with the IAF (International Accreditation Forum) which provides international recognition for sysyems and products and with the ILAC (International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation) for testing laboratories and inspection bodies.

These multilateral agreements are intended to recognise the competence of the accredited bodies and laboratories outside their home country in all countries that have signed these agreements.

These MLA (MultiLateral Agreements) are based on mutual recognition with the aim of establishing the equivalence of accreditation issued by different national bodies.
The way they work is very simple: any accreditation service provided by one of the signatories to the agreement is recognised in the countries of all the other signatories.
The purpose of these agreements is the use and acceptance of the results provided by accredited laboratories and bodies including those in other countries. According to the ILAC the aim summaried as "tested once, accepted everywhere" may become a reality.

For example, a Belgian company accredited by BELAC could tell a French client that its certificate is as trustworthy as a certificate issued by the French accrediation body, Cofrac, because of the European multilateral agreement.

Thanks to this recognition, companies can use bodies accredited in the signatory countries with total peace of mind, knowing that having "bought" an accreditaion service they do not have to have it validated again. This provides a stimulous to support the international development of companies.

The difference between accreditation and certification

Although accreditation and certification complement each other and use the same methodology, they do not have the same objectives or the same purpose. It is therefore important to distinguish between them:

Accreditation

Recognition by an authoritative body (COFRAC in France and BELAC in Belgium) which demonstrates that your organisation conforms to the requirements specified in the standard and is also technically competent to carry out the specific tests for which you have chosen to be accredited

Certification

Recognition by a recognised independent body that demonstrates that your organisation conforms to the requirements specified in the standard.

A distinction must therefore be made between the different approaches.

Laboratories/bodies may be verified and certified according to ISO 9001. This standard is generally used by manufacturers and service organisations to assess the quality management systems they have set up for their products or services. In short, this certification ensures that the continuous improvement of the quality system.

Although it is actually a management assessment tool, ISO 9001 does not assess a supplier's technical competence. This means that assessment of a supplier on the basis of ISO 9001 does not guarantee that the results of tests, inspections or calibration are correct and reliable.

Unlike ISO 9001 certfication, a laboratory is only given accreditation according to the procedures and criteria that have been particularly developed to determine its technical competence. Specialist technical assessors carry out a detailed examination of all the factors in a laboratory that affect the production of test data and calibration. This criteria is based on accepted international standards such as ISO/IEC 17025.

Accreditation is therefore intended to recognise not only that the applicant is well organised but also that it carries out its business ethically and according to internationally accepted standards (impartiality, independence, technical competence).

Accreditation therefore goes further than certification by providing recognition not only of conformity of the quality system but also of the competence of the men and women employed by the laboratory/body concerned.

Laboratories want to know if they should be accredited or certified. The answer is clear: accreditation is a more robust concept than certification as it recognises competence. It is therefore more appropriate for a laboratory to be accredited if it wants to demonstrate the necessary confidence for carrying out its tests and analyses.

Why is it important for a laboratory to be accredited?

Accreditation provides an assessment of the laboratory's technical competence for carrying out particular tests, measurements and calibrations. It also represents a formal recognition awarded to competent laboratories, which enables consumers to find and choose reliable testing, measurement and calibration services to meet their needs.

Aims and advantages of an accreditation approach:

  • establishing trust between the client and the accredited laboratory in the quality of the services provided,

  • assuring the client that the test, calibration and measurement data provided by the accredited laboratory is accurate and reliable,

  • ensuring that the technical competences of the accredited laboratory are maintained and developed,

  • ensuring the validity and relevance of the test methods used,

  • traceability.

Laboratory accreditation: compulsory or voluntary?

Increasingly, accreditation is growing in the regulatory area. It is therefore required by the public authorities as a pre-condition for implementation of a national regulation. In France, for example, the Medical Biology Laboratories (LBM) cannot carry out a medical biology examination without accredition. By 2016 all French laboratories must be accredited by COFRAC. There is no other alternative. Nevertheless, accredition is essentially voluntary. A laboratory's motivation for obtaining accreditation lies in its desire to be recognised for its technical competences by rigorous accreditation bodies and by other service providers and competitors.

It is on this voluntary basis that HeX obtained its ISO 17025 accredition in 2011, which enabled it to ensure:

  • its quality management system conformed to ISO 17025,

  • it had a programme to manage the technical competence of employees

  • test methods were valid and relevant,

  • selected, calibrated and controlled equipment is used,

  • a suitable environment is provided for carrying out tests,

  • the handling and transport of samples for testing is controlled,

  • the quality assurance of test and calibration data.

Testing laboratories ISO 17025

  • ISO/CEI 17025 is an international standard issued by ISO and the CEI in 2005 which specifies the quality and competence requirements specific to laboratory tests and analysis.

  • Check out the scope of our accreditation at www.belac.be and then select the "Laboratories and tests (TEST)" section and finally find "Hygiene & Expertise SPRL" in the list of companies.

www.belac.be

ISO 17020 Inspection bodies

  • ISO/CEI 17020 is an international standard issued by ISO and the CEI in 2012 which specifies the general criteria for the working of different types of inspection bodies.

  • Check out the scope of our accreditation at www.belac.be and then select the "Inspection Body (INSP)" section and finally find "Hygiene & Expertise SPRL" in the list of companies.

www.belac.be

Laboratoire d’étalonnage ISO 17025

  • ISO/CEI 17025 est une norme internationale édictée par l’ISO et par la CEI en 2005 qui spécifie les exigences de qualité et de compétence propres aux laboratoires d’étalonnage

  • Retrouvez notre scope d’accréditation à partir du site www.belac.be puis en sélectionnant la partie "laboratoire d’étalonnage (CAL)" et enfin en cherchant dans la liste des sociétés "Hygiène & Expertise SPRL".

www.belac.be

Need help?

Request a callback for free

[X] Close

Contact
haut de page

ACCRÉDITATIONS HeX

La norme ISO/CEI 17000 définit l'accréditation comme une «Attestation délivrée par une tierce partie, ayant rapport à un organisme d'évaluation de la conformité, constituant une reconnaissance formelle de la compétence de ce dernier à réaliser des activités spécifiques d'évaluation de la conformité ».

Cela se traduit par un contrôle de second niveau s'exerçant sur les laboratoires, les organismes d'inspection et les organismes certificateurs afin d'attester de leur compétence pour réaliser des étalonnages, des essais ou des inspections ou pour certifier des produits, des systèmes ou des personnes.

Les accords multilatéraux

Réseau Européen : Le BELAC est signataire de l'accord de reconnaissance d'EA (European Accreditation) qui couvre tous les domaines : essais, étalonnage, inspection, certification.

Réseau Mondial : le BELAC est signataire des accords de reconnaissance d'IAF (International Accreditation Forum) qui permet une reconnaissance internationale des certifications de systèmes et de produits et d'ILAC (International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation) pour les laboratoires d’essais et organismes d’inspection.

Les différents accords de reconnaissance multilatéraux visent à reconnaître la compétence des organismes et des laboratoires accrédités hors de leurs pays d'origine dans tous les pays signataires desdits accords.

Ces MLA (MultiLateral Agreements) sont basés sur la reconnaissance mutuelle dans le but d’établir une équivalence des accréditations délivrées par les différents organismes nationaux.
Leur principe de fonctionnement est simple : toute prestation effectuée sous le couvert de l'accréditation d'un des signataires de l'accord est reconnue dans les pays de tous les autres signataires.
Ainsi, la finalité de ces accords est l’utilisation et l’acceptation des résultats fournis par les laboratoires et organismes accrédités y compris ceux établis dans d’autres pays. Ainsi, selon ILAC, l’objectif résumé par « testé une fois, accepté partout » peut devenir réalité.

Ainsi, par exemple, une entreprise belge accréditée par BELAC pourra faire valoir auprès d'un donneur d'ordres ou d'un client français, que le certificat qu'elle détient est aussi digne de confiance qu'un certificat délivré par l'organisme d’accréditation français, le Cofrac, via l'accord multilatéral européen.

Grâce à cette reconnaissance, les entreprises peuvent faire appel, en toute sérénité, aux organismes accrédités dans les pays signataires et, ayant «acheté» une prestation couverte par l'accréditation, elles n'ont pas à la faire valider à nouveau. C'est un soutien, un stimulant pour le développement des entreprises à l'international.

Distinction accréditation / certification

Si l'accréditation et la certification sont complémentaires et procèdent de la même méthodologie, elles n'ont pas les mêmes objectifs ni la même finalité. Il est donc important de les distinguer :

Accréditation

Reconnaissance par un organisme faisant autorité (obligatoirement le COFRAC en France et le BELAC en Belgique) qui prouve que votre structure est conforme aux exigences spécifiées dans la norme et est en plus compétente techniquement pour effectuer les examens spécifiques pour lesquels vous avez choisi de vous faire accréditer

Certification

Reconnaissance par un organisme reconnu et indépendant qui prouve que votre structure est conforme aux exigences spécifiées dans la norme.

Il faut donc bien différencier les approches.

Les laboratoires/organismes peuvent se faire vérifier et certifier selon la norme internationale de systèmes de gestion ISO 9001. Cette norme est très généralement utilisée par les fabricants et les organismes de services pour évaluer leurs systèmes de gestion de la qualité de leurs produits ou services. D’une façon synthétique, cette certification garantit que le système qualité s'améliore de façon continue.

Bien qu’étant effectivement un outil d’évaluation du management, l’ISO 9001 ne permet pas d’évaluer la compétence technique d’un fournisseur. Cela signifie que l’évaluation d’un fournisseur sur la base de l’ISO 9001 ne vous garantit pas que les résultats d’essais, d’inspection ou d’étalonnage soient justes et fiables.

Contrairement à la certification ISO 9001, l’accréditation d’un laboratoire est accordée selon des procédures et des critères qui ont été particulièrement développés pour déterminer la compétence technique. Des évaluateurs techniques spécialisés procèdent à un examen minutieux de tous les facteurs qui, en laboratoire, ont une incidence sur la production de données d’essai et d’étalonnage. Ces critères sont fondés sur des normes acceptées au niveau international telles que l’ISO/IEC 17025.

L’accréditation vise donc à faire reconnaître non seulement que le postulant est organisé, mais aussi qu’il exerce son activité selon une déontologie et des règles de l’art internationalement acceptées (impartialité, indépendance, compétence technique).

L’accréditation va donc plus loin que la certification en apportant, outre la reconnaissance de la conformité du système qualité, celle de la compétence des personnels, hommes et femmes du laboratoire/organisme concerné.

Des laboratoires se posent la question de savoir s’il est plus opportun de se faire accréditer que de se faire certifier. La réponse est claire : l’accréditation est un concept plus fort que celui de la certification puisqu’il reconnaît la compétence ; il est donc plus approprié pour un laboratoire de se faire accréditer s’il veut donner la confiance nécessaire à la réalisation de ses « essais » (analyses).

Pourquoi est-il important, pour un laboratoire de se faire accréditer ?

L’accréditation permet d’évaluer les compétences techniques des laboratoires quand il s’agit d’effectuer des types particuliers d’essai, de mesure et d’étalonnage. Elle représente en outre une reconnaissance formelle accordée aux laboratoires compétents, ce qui permet aux consommateurs de trouver et de choisir des services fiables d’essai, de mesure et d’étalonnage qui répondent à leurs besoins.

Les objectifs et avantages d’une démarche d’accréditation sont :

  • l’instauration d’une confiance entre le client et le laboratoire accrédité dans la qualité des prestations réalisées,

  • l’assurance pour le client que les données d’essai, d’étalonnage et de mesure que leur fournit le laboratoire accrédité sont exactes et fiables,

  • l’assurance du maintien et d’une évolution des compétences techniques du laboratoire accrédité,

  • l’assurance de la validité et la pertinence des méthodes d’essai employées,

  • la traçabilité des mesures.

L’accréditation de laboratoire : obligation ou choix volontaire ?

De plus en plus fréquemment, l’accréditation tend à se développer dans le domaine règlementaire. Elle est alors exigée par les Pouvoirs Publics comme un préalable pour l’application d’une réglementation nationale. Par exemple, en France, les Laboratoires de Biologie Médicale (LBM) ne peuvent réaliser d'examen de biologie médicale sans accréditation. À l'horizon 2016, tous les laboratoires de France devront être accrédités par le COFRAC. Aucune autre alternative n’est alors possible. Néanmoins, le recours à l’accréditation reste, à l’origine et par essence, de nature volontaire. La motivation d’un laboratoire pour l’obtention d’une accréditation réside dans le souhait de faire reconnaitre ses propres compétences techniques par les organismes accréditeurs exigeants et vis-à-vis d’autres prestataires/concurrents.

C’est sur cette base volontaire que HeX a obtenu en 2011 son accréditation ISO 17025 qui lui permet d’assurer :

  • un système de Management Qualité conforme aux exigences de l’ISO 17025,

  • un programme de maîtrise de la compétence technique du personnel,

  • la validité et la pertinence des méthodes d’essai,

  • l’utilisation d’équipements sélectionnés, étalonnés et maîtrisés,

  • un milieu pour la réalisation des essais approprié,

  • la manutention et le transport maîtrisés des échantillons soumis aux essais,

  • l’assurance de la qualité des données d’essai et d’étalonnage.

Laboratoire d'essais ISO 17025

  • ISO/CEI 17025 est une norme internationale édictée par l'ISO et par la CEI en 2005 qui spécifie les exigences de qualité et de compétence propres aux laboratoires d’essais et d'analyses.

  • Retrouver notre scope d'accréditation à partir du site www.belac.be puis en sélectionnant la partie « Laboratoires d'essais (TEST) » et enfin en cherchant dans la liste des sociétés « Hygiene & Expertise SPRL ».

www.belac.be

Organisme d'inspections ISO 17020

  • ISO/CEI 17020 est une norme internationale édictée par l'ISO et par la CEI en 2012 qui spécifie les critères généraux pour le fonctionnement des différents types d’organismes procédant à l’inspection.

  • Retrouver notre scope d'accréditation à partir du site www.belac.be puis en sélectionnant la partie « Organisme d'Inspection (INSP) » et enfin en cherchant dans la liste des sociétés « Hygiene & Expertise SPRL ».

www.belac.be